Day 5: Bloomington / I Get My Kicks on Route 66

Miles: 41.62; ~2040 calories burned (per app).  give me this beer.

If you think I did not listen to that song for at least 20 minutes when I got on 66, you are wrong.

Last Monday, I was twitching in my cubicle for four hours, panicking about what the fuck am I doing and why.  This Monday I did something I’ve wanted to do all my life and started down Route 66.  Granted when I was younger I assumed I’d be in a car, but I think I like my way better.

 

route66 start

 

Route 66 was beautiful.  The first 10 miles or so out of Pontiac were a little unnerving: so very, very empty, just fields of grain, the feeling that if I were to die right now no one would know for days.  But once I got onto 66 it was perfect.  About half of the leg there was a bike path adjacent to the road, and the rest of it the traffic was busy enough to be reassuring but not so busy as to be scary.  I listened to music or to Night Vale some of the time, but otherwise just enjoyed it.

10468438_10100995435645797_2564099714091497807_n

My body seems to be starting to adjust, as I was pretty OK after 40 miles, but after I got to the motel and stripped off my sweat-sticky clothes, nope, the chafing is pretty not-delightful.  But it’s getting better.  And I did laundry, about which I was inordinately excited.  Still am.

On the down side, there’s a small possibility I’ve maybe broken one of my left toes after I slipped getting into the motel pool and smashing it against the railing, as I now can’t move it, and every time I stand up it hurts so bad my vision gets a little white at the edges.  Toes, meh.  Overrated.

Also discovered that opening beer bottles on door hinges is messy but effective.  And that necessity has not magically bred in me an ability to keep track of fucking anything.  I’m convinced I swallowed my pocketknife because there’s nowhere else I could have put it.

Springfield, IL tomorrow; St Louis Wednesday.  More later, maybe.  Gonna go sulk over my foot.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 5: Bloomington / I Get My Kicks on Route 66

  1. Paula says:

    Hey Cat! I’m really enjoying reading your daily adventures! It’s the first thing I do when I come in. “Where’s Cat today?” Sorry to hear about your toe. I bet you wish you had a throttle now! 😉 I feel your pain though. A few years back I slammed my foot into the door jam of my bathroom. Made my eyes water. Once I could see again I got brave and took off my sock to see the damage. The middle toe on my right foot was bent over laying on top of the toe next to it. So what do I do? Hop over to the table to get my phone and take a picture of it. MY FIRST BROKEN BONE! The sad thing is I wasn’t even doing anything cool, adventurous, or was even intoxicated! All I know it was a couple months before I could walk on it with out being in pain. I hope yours isn’t nearly as bad! Focus on the beauty around you as you continue on your journey (what many of us only dream of doing) and you’ll soon forget about that “over rated” toe! 😀

    Like

    • intercat5 says:

      haha ouch! mine’s not that bad, probably just banged up or sprained, but since it’s the two toes adjacent to the big toe that got the nail ripped half off the other night, my left foot is just a disaster right now. 😛 hope things are good with you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

